Schmidt Elected Chair of Midwest AGs

By  | 

TOPEKA, Kan. -- Kansas Attorney General Derek Schmidt has been elected Midwest regional chairman for the National Association of Attorneys General.

Schmidt was elected to the post by the attorneys general representing states in the Midwest region for the national, nonpartisan organization that includes all state and territorial attorneys general. The states in the Midwest are Kansas, Oklahoma, Missouri, Iowa, Minnesota, Wisconsin, Illinois, Indiana, Ohio and Michigan.

As regional chair, Schmidt will serve on the executive committee for the national organization and will help guide its decision making. In recent years, initiatives of the National Association of Attorneys General have included combating human trafficking, protecting consumer privacy and promoting child safety. The organization also provides extensive education and training opportunities to state attorneys general staff throughout the country.