Safe Kids Kansas Honors Childhood Safety Advocates

By  | 

TOPEKA, Kan. (WIBW)-- A local organization took the time to acknowledge individuals that help to save children.

Safe Kids Kansas presented their annual Safe Kids Awards at the Washburn Institute of Technology.

The prestigious Dennis Cooley Award of Excellence was presented to Phyllis Larimore.

She has been a long time member of Safe Kids Kansas and serves on the coalitions Board of Directors.

Larimore couldn't be at the award ceremony because she was battling the flu.

The Outstanding Partnership for Child Safety Award was presented to the Kansas Department of Transportation, Outstanding Coalition Organization Award was presented to the Kansas Traffic Safety Resource Office, Location Coalition of the Year Award was presented to Safe Kids Cowley County and the Service Recognition Awards was presented to Jeff Rozwick and the Office of Communications at the Kansas Department of Health and Environment.

Safe Kids Kansas works to prevent childhood injury, the leading cause of death and disability to children.