Local Schools Awarded Green School Grants

By  | 

TOPEKA, Kan. (WIBW)--About two dozen schools in Kansas are joining the crusade to save the planet.

27 schools to be exact were awarded green schools grants from the Kansas Department Of Health and Environment's Bureau of Waste Management...

The grants will fund green projects in the coming school year, such as recycling bins, compost programs for cafeteria food, and field trips to community recycling centers.

The grants this year came to a total of almost $83,000. The grants range from $600-$4,500 for each school.

Hope Street Academy in Topeka, Wetmore Academic Center in Nemaha County, Olpe Elementary and Jr/Sr High School in Lyon County, Chase County Elementary in Chase County, St. Marys Grade School in Pottawatomie County, Onaga Grade School in Pottawatomie County, Valley Falls in Jefferson County and Riley County Grade School in Riley County are among the schools chosen.