Kansas Walk Of Honor To Add Curtis, Earhart, Kilby

By  | 

TOPEKA, Kan. – Charles Curtis, Amelia Earhart, and Jack Kilby are the newest additions to the Kansas Walk of Honor. Their bronze plaques were scheduled to be unveiled at a ceremony Wednesday, October 10, 2012, on the southeast corner of the Statehouse south lawn.

The Walk will be located within the sidewalks on the Statehouse grounds and feature people who have contributed on a state and national level and have significant connections to Kansas.

“It is important for Kansas to recognize those who have made incredible contributions to our state and nation. The Kansas Walk of Fame raises awareness of the accomplishments of Kansans and helps to begin a discussion about civic duty,” Gov. Brownback said. “Kansans are pioneers, they explore, they create, and they innovate. It is right to acknowledge these three Kansans because, they are all pioneers in their fields and represent Kansas well.”

Kansas Historical society Executive Director Jennie Chinn said the plan is for between one and three plaques to be added each year to the Walk.

“Those who wish to submit names of those to be considered for future plaques can send them to the Kansas Historical Foundation. A small committee will be appointed that will make nominations and selections,” Chinn said.

The Kansas Historical Foundation will serve as the caretakers of funds for the Kansas Walk of Fame. People can donate to this fund. The cost for each plaque is $2,000 including shipping.

Charles Curtis is the only American Indian and the only Kansan to serve as vice president.

Aviator Amelia Earhart set several flight records and was the first woman to fly solo across the Atlantic Ocean.

Engineer Jack Kilby invented the microchip.

Amelia Earhart