Kansas Senate Leader Appoints Pensions Committee

By  | 

TOPEKA, Kan. (AP) _ Kansas Senate President Susan Wagle has created a special committee to review issues surrounding the state Public Employees Retirement System.

Wagle named nine senators to the panel Monday. Its chairman is Independence Republican and Senate Vice President Jeff King, and its vice chairman is Emporia Republican Jeff Longbine.

The Senate doesn't have a standing committee on pensions, as the House does. The House committee is reviewing multiple pension issues, including a proposal to start a 401(k)-style plan for new public employees.

The other Republicans on the Senate panel are Elaine Bowers of Concordia, Jim Denning of Overland Park, Mitch Holmes of St. John, Forrest Knox of Altoona and Ty Masterson of Andover.

Senate Minority Leader Anthony Hensley and Laura Kelly are the committee's Democratic members. Both are from Topeka.

Posted by Greg Palmer