Governor Names New Kansas Lottery Director

By  | 

TOPEKA, Kan. (WIBW) - The Kansas Lottery is getting a new leader.

Gov. Sam Brownback announced Wednesday that he's appointed Terry Presta as the lottery's executive director. The appointment is effective January 2nd.

Presta was president and CEO of Overland Park-based Presto Convenience Stores. He brings nearly 30 years of business experience to the post.

He also served in the legislature from 1995 to 1999.

Presta succeeds interim directors Dennis Taylor and Sherriene Jones-Sontag.

Complete news release from the Kansas Governor's office:
Kansas Governor Sam Brownback today announced the appointment of Terry Presta as Executive Director of the Kansas Lottery Effective Jan. 2, 2013.

Presta, of Overland Park, was the President and CEO of Overland Park-based Presto Convenience Stores until January of this year. He brings almost 30 years of experience as a business owner/operator to his role as Executive Director of the Kansas Lottery. Presta also served in the Kansas House of Representatives from 1995 to 1999 representing District 123.

“Terry will be a great addition to the Kansas Lottery,” said Governor Brownback. “He is bringing his wealth of experience as a Kansas Lottery retailer, a business owner, and a former legislator. I am confident Terry will bring new perspective and energy to the Lottery as we focus on growing sales and increasing transfers to the state.”

Presta succeeds interim Executive Directors Sherriene Jones-Sontag and Dennis Taylor. Jones-Sontag, who has served as interim since July, will continue on in her role as Deputy Director. Taylor, currently Director of Special Projects, plans to retire at the end of the year.

“I appreciate the hard work and dedication of Sherriene and Dennis, both of whom have served as Interim Executive Directors this past year,” Brownback said. “Dennis has served the Lottery well and I wish him the best in his future pursuits.”