TOPEKA, Kansas (WIBW) -- Safety is key when using fireworks this Independence Day.
The discharge of fireworks is lawful in the City of Topeka July first through the fourth. People can shoot them off July 1 - 3 from 8 a.m. to 10 p.m., and on the fourth from 8 a.m. to midnight.
Discharging fireworks on any other day or during any other times is illegal, and those who do so could face fines between $299 and $499 per violation.
Fireworks were legal to sell starting June 27, but discharging them is only legal during the specified days and times.
Persons under the age of 18 cannot possess or discharge fireworks without adult supervision.
Bottle Rockets / Sky Rockets, as well as metal sparklers, are banned and illegal in Kansas.
Safety Tips to Keep in Mind from the Topeka Fire Department:
*Always read and follow the directions on the fireworks labels.
*Do not attempt to re-light a dud firework. Allow 10 - 15 minutes to pass and then soak in water. Always keep water handy when discharging fireworks.
*Only purchase fireworks from reliable sellers and never experiment with homemade devices.
*Dispose of fireworks by soaking them in water and throwing them away in a metal trashcan away from the house.
*Never throw or point fireworks at other people or yourself.
*Never carry fireworks in your pocket, or light them off in your hand.
*Never shoot fireworks in a metal or glass container
*Never stand over a firework when lighting it
*Only ignite fireworks outdoors, never indoors.
*Store unused fireworks in a cool, dry place, off the floor and away from possible spillage
*Light one firework at a time, and then move to a safe distance
*Always appoint a designated lighter in group situations.
*Use a punk or long-handled lighter to ignite fireworks.
*USE COMMON SENSE
Help keep the neighborhoods of Topeka clean by cleaning up after yourself and disposing of fireworks debris.
More is at www.topeka.org.