Election 2012 Coverage - Shawnee Co. Kansas House Races Close

By  | 

For a list of 2012 Election results visit:


TOPEKA, Kan. (WIBW) - Several Kansas House races in Shawnee County remained close and at least two incumbents were trailing as the vote count wound down Tuesday night.

Democrat Sean Gatewood was trailing in the race to retain the 50th District seat. Republican Josh Powell led 1264 to 1130.

In the 54th District, Democratic incumbent Ann Mah held a firm lead through much of the night, but as later precincts came in, Republican challenger Ken Corbet pulled ahead, 3997 to 3770.

In a battle of incumbents created through redistricting, Democrat Annie Tietz led Republican Mike Burgess by a count of 1645 to 1490 in the 53rd district.

An open seat in the 52nd District had retired Dr. Shanti Ghandi, a Republican, leading his Democratic opponent, retiring Shawnee Co. Commissioner Ted Ensley by a count of 1194 to 1064.

The open 56th district seat remained tight. Democrat Virgil Weigel held a slight edge over Republican Janet Mitchell late Tuesday, 4048 to 3895.

A couple races could impact the makeup of the Topeka City Council. In the House 57th District, Democrat John Alcala led Republican Aimee Rosenow, 1035 to 661. In the Shawnee Co. Commission's 3rd District, Republican Bob Archer was starting to pull away from Democrat John Lamb, 7560 to 6472. Current council rules state that, if they win another elected office, Alcala and Archer would have to give up their council seats.