New Kan. Treasurer Takes Oath Monday

TOPEKA, Kan. (AP) _ Dennis McKinney will be sworn in as state treasurer at 3 p.m. Monday.

The ceremony will be at the Statehouse in the House chamber, where McKinney, a Greensburg Democrat, has served as House minority leader since January 2003.

Gov. Kathleen Sebelius appointed McKinney to replace Republican Lynn Jenkins, whose last day was Friday. Jenkins won the seat for the 2nd Congressional District in eastern Kansas.

Administering McKinney's oath of office will be Magistrate Judge Ann Dixson, from his home county, Kiowa.

McKinney plans to have a 4 p.m. reception at the treasurer's office, in the Landon State Office Building, just east of the Statehouse.

(Copyright 2009 by The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved.)