Sebelius Signs Executive Order to Increase Accessibility to State Websites

TOPEKA, Kan. - Governor Kathleen Sebelius signed an executive order Monday increasing the accessibility of state websites and other information technology systems to those with disabilities, making it easier for all Kansans to get the information regarding state services, programs, employment and opportunities.

“Kansas’ electronic and information technology systems are continually being updated in order to increase their accessibility to all Kansans,” Sebelius said. “The modernization of our state’s websites ensures that everyone has equal access to the beneficial information available online.”

Executive Order 08-12 establishes the Kansas Partnership for Accessible Technology. The partnership will consist of up to 30 members and oversee the state’s standards for updating and developing the technology necessary to ensure accessibility compliance. The group will serve as an advisory committee to the Information Technology Executive Council; provide recommendations; and develop training resources for proper implementation.

Governor Sebelius has appointed Duncan Friend, Topeka, as Chair of the Kansas Partnership for Accessible Technology. Friend serves as the Director of Enterprise Technology Initiatives for the Kansas Division of Information Systems and Communications. Martha Gabehart, Topeka, will serve as Vice-Chair of the partnership. Gabehart serves as the Executive Director of the Kansas Commission on Disability Concerns.

In addition, the following individuals will serve on the Kansas Partnership for Accessible Technology:

· Mike Branam, Kansas Department on Aging

· Michael Donnelly, Kansas Department of Social and Rehabilitation Services

· Nathan Eberline, League of Kansas Municipalities

· Anthony Fadale, State Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) Coordinator

· Don Heiman, Kansas Legislative Branch

· Jim Hollingsworth, Information Network of Kansas

· Chris Howe, Kansas Department of Administration Division of Purchases

· Tom Laughlin, Kansas Health Policy Authority

· Chrissy Madden, Kan-ed

· John Martello, Kansas State School for the Blind

· Denise Moore, Kansas Executive Branch

· Joe Oborny, Kansas School for the Deaf

· Kelly O’Brien, Kansas Judicial Branch

· Cole Robison, Statewide Web/Information Technology Accessibility Director

· David Rosenthal, Kansas Relay Services, Inc.

· Bill Roth, Chief Information Technology Architect

· Melinda Stanley, Kansas State Department of Education

· Natalie Davis, Kansas Division of Emergency Management

· Matt Veatch, State Archivist

· Melissa Wangemann, Kansas Association of Counties

· Ivan Weichert, State Geographic Information Systems Director

Executive orders can be viewed online at the governor’s website,