Safe Streets Kansas Recognize Their Own

The 67 organizations which comprise the Safe Kids Kansas Coalition came together in Topeka Tuesday to honor their own.

Dr. Jeffrey Colvin of Lawrence, Kan., was presented with the coalition's highest honor, the Dr. Dennis Cooley Award of Excellence, for his work in the field of childhood injury.

The local Safe Kids Shawnee County organization was awarded with Coalition of the year. Safe Kids Marion County's Sondra Mayfield took home the Service Recognition Award.

The Kansas Department of Health and Education won Outstanding Coalition Organization, while the Abilene Reflector-chronicle was recognized for Outstanding Partnership for Child Safety.