13 states protest abortion refusal rule

By: AP
By: AP

HARTFORD, Conn. (AP) -- Connecticut and 12 other states are protesting a proposed Bush administration rule that would give stronger job protections to doctors and other health care workers who refuse to participate in abortions because of religious or moral objections.

The attorneys general of 13 states sent a letter Wednesday to the Department of Health and Human Services, protesting that the rule is too vague.

The proposed rule would require as many as 584,000 employers to certify in writing that they are complying with several federal laws that protect the conscience rights of health care workers.

Other states protesting the rule are Arizona, Illinois, Iowa, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Montana, New Jersey, Oregon, Rhode Island, Utah and Vermont.

631 SW Commerce Pl. Topeka, Kansas 66615 phone: 785-272-6397 fax: 785-272-1363 email: feedback@wibw.com
Copyright © 2002-2015 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 29686099 - wibw.com/a?a=29686099
Gray Television, Inc.