Legislative Leaders Form Study Committee on Transportation

By  | 

TOPEKA, Kan. (AP) _ Legislative leaders have formed a committee to study the state's transportation needs and how to pay for new projects.

They created the 16-member panel today. It will have seven senators and nine House members.

The state's current, 10-year transportation program -- worth some 13 billion dollars -- ends next summer.

Last month, Transportation Secretary Deb Miller formed a 30-member task force to tackle transportation issues -- and possibly draft a plan for a new program.

Legislative leaders still haven't committed to passing a new plan next year, after the Legislature convenes in January.

House Speaker Melvin Neufeld said the committee will determine whether lawmakers can pass a plan next year.

(Copyright 2008 by The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved.)

Comments are posted from viewers like you and do not always reflect the views of this station. powered by Disqus