Sebelius Seeks Agricultural Disaster Designation for Ellsworth County

Governor Kathleen Sebelius sent a letter Friday to U.S. Secretary of Agriculture Ed Schafer asking that he declare Ellsworth County an agricultural disaster area for production losses due to severe weather events that occurred between March and June.

The severe weather included excessive rain, flash flooding, hail and tornadoes.

“Weather events have impacted wheat, corn and soybean production to the extent that Ellsworth County meets the criteria to be declared a disaster area,” Sebelius said. “A disaster declaration will ensure Kansas farmers are eligible to seek aid should they need it.”

A secretarial disaster designation from Schafer will make farmers and ranchers eligible for low-interest loans, plus any aid that may be available under the permanent disaster program in the recently passed farm bill.

Today’s request will amend a request Sebelius made August 1 to have Allen, Graham, Hodgeman and Rooks counties declared disaster areas.