Fifteen Judges Apply To Fill District Court Judge Vacancy

Topeka, KS -- Fifteen area attorneys have applied to fill the Shawnee County District Judge vacancy created by Judge Matthew Dowd retiring.

The Shawnee District Court Nominating Commission will interview all applicants next Tuesday, July 15. They will then narrow the list to two or three nominees for Governor Kathleen Sebelius to appoint one.

Three of the applicants have already been nominated to fill vacancy created by Judge Thomas Conklin retiring July 4th.

The Nominating Commission says they will not make their nominations for Judge Dowd's replacement until Sebelius has appointed Judge Conklin's replacement. She has until July 24th to make that appointment.

Following is a list of those applying for Judge Dowd’s position:

James E. “Jeb” Benfer, private practice
Kelley M. Connor-Wilson, private practice
Jan Haley Maxwell, SRS attorney
Jared S. Maag, deputy solicitor general, State of Kansas
Jill A. Michaux, private practice
T. Richard Harmon, private practice
Brian M. Vazquez, Kansas Health Policy Authority, deputy director
Kimberly L. Knoll, Shawnee County assistant district attorney
Larry G. Karns, private practice
Wm. Scott Hesse, assistant attorney general
Carl William Ossmann, SRS deputy general counsel
Ruth E. Graham, private practice*
Cheryl Rios Kingfisher, associate Topeka Municipal Court presiding judge*
David B. Debenham, Shawnee County deputy district attorney*
Pantaleon Florez Jr., private practice

*Nominated to succeed Judge Conklin

631 SW Commerce Pl. Topeka, Kansas 66615 phone: 785-272-6397 fax: 785-272-1363 email:
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 24534114 -
Gray Television, Inc.