Shawnee County Baseball Hall Of Fame Announces Inaugural Class

By: WIBW (Posted by Melissa Brunner)
By: WIBW (Posted by Melissa Brunner)

TOPEKA, Kan. (WIBW) - Shawnee County is taking a swing at honoring the best baseball players the area has seen.

The newly-formed Shawnee County Baseball Hall of Fame announced its inaugural class Friday in a news conference at Bettis Family Sports Complex at Lake Shawnee.

The eight members include former major leaguers and outstanding media members. They are Ken Berry, Francis "Beany" Conwell, Elwood "Bingo" DeMoss, Lee Dodson, Marion McDonald, Mike Torrez, Fred White and Gene Wilson.

The purpose of the Hall of Fame is to honor people from Shawnee County who have contributed to the game of baseball.

It will exist "virtually" for now, which means it will be on the internet, including a historical section, details of players, old ball parks and more.

The inductees will be honored during a reception July 17 at the Bettis Family Sports Complex.

631 SW Commerce Pl. Topeka, Kansas 66615 phone: 785-272-6397 fax: 785-272-1363 email:
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 211614881 -
Gray Television, Inc.