In this image issued by the semi-official Iranian Students News Agency, ISNA, June 24, 2009 traffic is seen on a street in Tehran, Iran on June 23, 2009. (AP Photo/ISNA)
The Kansas Highway Patrol would like to remind motorists of a few new traffic laws that will be effective on Friday, July 1st.
The most notable change is the increase in speed limit on some multi-lane highways in Kansas. An increase of five miles per hour was approved, increasing the maximum speed limit in Kansas to 75 miles per hour. For a list of the 75 mile per hour zones, go to KDOT’s website at: http://www.ksdot.org/PDF_Files/Kansas-routes-designated-for-75-mph-speed-limit.pdf.
The new “Dead Red” law allows the driver of a motorcycle or the rider of a bicycle to proceed through a steady red signal, subject to other traffic rules governing right of way, if the red light has failed to change to green within a reasonable period of time because the signal has malfunctioned or has failed to detect the vehicle. The driver or rider must yield the right of way to any vehicle in the intersection or approaching so as to constitute an immediate hazard, to any pedestrian lawfully within an adjacent crosswalk, and to any other traffic lawfully using the intersection.
The Kansas Highway Patrol VIN inspection program will benefit due to a new law passed by the legislature this spring. K.S.A. 8-116a amended the inspection fee for VIN inspections. Since the program’s inception in 1984, fees had remained untouched at $10 per vehicle. Beginning on July 1, 2011, fees will raise to $15 per vehicle. Next year, effective July 1, 2012, fees rise to $20.
For the past year, the KHP and other law enforcement agencies have been enforcing the primary seatbelt law. Beginning July 1, 2011, persons violating this law will be fined $10, an increase from the $5 citation fee it has been for the past year. There are no court costs assessed for violations of this law.
Another provision of this law is that for persons violating subsection (a)(2) of K.S.A. 8-2503 (“each occupant of a passenger car manufactured with safety belts in compliance with federal motor vehicle safety standard no. 208, who is at least 14 years of age but less than 18 years of age, shall have a safety belt properly fastened about such person’s body at all times when the passenger car is in motion.”), the fine shall be $60, with no court costs assessed.
Court costs increase effective today, July 1st. There is a $22 surcharge added to the $76 traffic docket fee, bringing the total court costs to $98. This is a $4.50 increase from what court costs have been the past year.
The Patrol would like to remind all travelers this July 4th holiday, that they will have additional troopers on patrol, and will strictly enforce DUI and Safety restraint laws. If you plan to consume alcoholic beverages, designate a sober driver. All vehicle occupants should fasten their safety belts, as this is your best protection if involved in a crash.