Jerry Moran Names Service Academy Selection Board

By: From 13 News
By: From 13 News

HUTCHINSON – Congressman and Senator-elect Jerry Moran has announced the 2010 First District Service Academy Selection Board. The 16-member board reviews applications and interviews candidates who are applying for admission to U.S. Service Academies. These include the U.S. Military Academy, U.S. Naval Academy, U.S. Air Force Academy and U.S. Merchant Marine Academy. Those selected will enter the academies in June 2011.

“We are fortunate as Americans to have so many talented and hard working young men and women interested in serving our country through the military,” Moran said. “The members of the Service Academy Selection Board will face a tough challenge in narrowing the field of qualified candidates during the selection process. I thank the Board for their service and commend all the applicants for their dedication to our country.”

The Service Academy Selection Board will meet to interview candidates on Saturday, November 20, 2010, at the Eisenhower Presidential Library in Abilene. Following interviews, the Board will make recommendations to Moran for his decision. If nominated by Moran, the applicants must then meet the individual admission requirements of each Academy. The Academies will make the final decision on who will receive an appointment of admission.

Members of the 2010 First District Service Academy Selection Board include:
Kirstin Bangerter of Dodge City; Master’s in Education from Fort Hays State University, military spouse.
Shirley Braxton of Salina; Community volunteer.
Tom Brown of McPherson; Mayor of McPherson, President of the Kansas Naval Academy Parents Club from 1995-1997, Father of U.S. Naval Academy Graduate, U.S. Marine Corps.
Jeff Devilbiss of Emporia; Power Plant Technology Instructor at Flint Hills Technical College, U.S. Merchant Marine Academy Graduate.
Annie Fee of Hutchinson; Community volunteer, Mother of U.S. Military Academy cadet.
Steve Harmon of Emporia; Director of External Affairs and Director of the Business & Industry Training Center at Flint Hills Technical College, Kansas National Guard Member.
Mike Junk of Salina; President of Crestwood Inc., U.S. Air Force Academy Graduate.
Ron Lucas of Goodland; Owner/Manager of Goodland Greenline, Inc., U.S. Army.
Ryan Newell of Marion; U.S. Army, Served in Operation Enduring Freedom
Chris Orwoll of Hutchinson; President and CEO of Kansas Cosmosphere and Space Center, U.S. Naval Academy Graduate.
Bekki Pribil of Pratt; Community Volunteer, U.S. Air Force Reserves.
Paula Ripple of Dodge City; Retired Dodge City High School English Instructor, Mother of U.S. Air Force Academy Graduate.
Consuelo Sandoval of Garden City; Executive Director of Finney County United Way.
Kay Schmidt of Milford; Family Advocacy Program on Ft. Riley, Mother of two military students and a U.S. Air Force Academy Graduate.
Rev. Delbert Stanton of Hays; Served Kansas United Methodist churches in Udall, WaKeeney, Atwood, Medicine Lodge, Wichita and Hays; Member of Dane G. Hansen Foundation Scholarship Committee in Logan.
Ron Whitney of Emporia; Vietnam War veteran, Member of Emporia American Legion and Veterans of Foreign Wars, U.S. Army.

631 SW Commerce Pl. Topeka, Kansas 66615 phone: 785-272-6397 fax: 785-272-1363 email:
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 106801354 -
Gray Television, Inc.