Stubbs, Wolgast, Hiller Post Big Council Wins

Former Topeka City Council member Lisa Stubbs is poised to make a comeback, after smashing the competition in the District 7 Council primary Tuesday night. Stubbs moves on to the April 7th general election after leading the pack with 923 votes for the seat now held by Brett Blackburn. CPA and corporate team-builder Robert Archer finished 2nd with 455 votes, followed by Beth Cooper with 212.

Karen Hiller received the top vote total in District One, outpacing Shawn Leisinger, 544 to 230. David Brown appeared to be the 3rd place finisher with only 47 votes in his column. Sylvia Ortiz defeated her nearest challenger, Ellen Ross, by almost 200 votes Tuesday, 332-130. Roy Groves posted 72 votes to enter the general election race in District Three.

Longtime Topeka community leader Larry Wolgast posted another huge election win from District Five, raising nearly $15,000 for the contest and beating Mike Padilla and incumbent Bill Haynes by a 3-1 margin. Wolgast finished with 716 votes (all these totals with 99% of votes in) then former TPD administrator Mike Padilla with 236, and Haynes trailing the pack with 219.

The general election is set for April 7th, also featuring the Topeka mayor's race between Bill Bunten, Jeff Preisner and Jon-Wesley O'Hara. (See our story on

There are also sales tax and mayoral veto questions on the ballot.

631 SW Commerce Pl. Topeka, Kansas 66615 phone: 785-272-6397 fax: 785-272-1363 email:
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 40696257 -
Gray Television, Inc.