Stauffer, Moore Honored by Boy Scouts

TOPEKA -- Marking the 100th anniversary of the Boy Scouting movement, and the 25th anniversary of the local tradition of honoring outstanding Topekans who support Scouting, the Jayhawk Council of Northeast Kansas enshrined two more men into its circle of honor as Distinguished Citizens last night.

John H. Stauffer was praised for his civic involvement and love of Scouting in Tuesday's ceremonies at the Downtown Ramada Hotel. Stauffer's long list of service to community organizations includes chairman or president of Downtown Topeka, Inc., the Topeka Chamber, Community Foundation, as well as serving on boards as a member or director for the Salvation Army, United Way, American Lung Association.

Westar's Bill Moore, who is also now honored by the local Boy Scout chapter as a Distinguished Citizen for 2010, is also currently co-chairing the Heartland Visioning effort, and serves on the board of GO Topeka. Moore also serves on the board of Big Brothers/ Big Sisters, and is a trustee for the Kansas Sports Hall of Fame.

Stauffer and Moore now join other local notables such as Howard Fricke, both John Dicus' of Capitol Federal, Governors Bill Graves and Kathleen Sebelius, Nancy Perry, Maynard Oliverius, Jerry Farley, Dale Cushinberry, Jim Parrish and Walt Menninger as outstanding Kansans honored by the Scouts in their annual fall event.

Jayhawk Council President Allen Towle opened the program urging all young men who are close to their goal to become Eagle Scouts during the BSA Centennial year, and encouraged Topekans to support their capital campaign. The Council plans to reach its fundraising goal of $3.5 million dollars toward a new Cub Scout camp area, and improvements to current Boy Scout summer camps.

631 SW Commerce Pl. Topeka, Kansas 66615 phone: 785-272-6397 fax: 785-272-1363 email:
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 103982864 -
Gray Television, Inc.