Topeka Library Hosts "Candidate School"

By: Ralph Hipp, 13 News
By: Ralph Hipp, 13 News

TOPEKA LIBRARY -- It's back to school time, and that includes possible candidates for public office in Topeka in April 2011. Even-numbered district council seats are up for election next spring. With that in mind, TSCPL hosts its "Candidate School" August 28th for three hours this Saturday afternoon.

Registration is not required, but for information, you may call 233-1365.

What you will learn about:
• Filing the appropriate paperwork and financial records
• Candidate election information
• Election time frame and laws governing candidates
Presentations by Libby Ensley, Shawnee County Election Commissioner and Jana Atchison, Local Level Campaign Finance, of the Kansas Governmental Ethics Commission

• Getting your message out and important details to remember
Presented by Vince Frye, FyreAllen and Jake Huyett, Jones Huyett Partners

Two "breakout sessions" will also be held at 3:40 that afternoon.
For Topeka City Council – Marvin Auditorium, Rooms 101 A&B
3:40–4:20 pm | Why Run, Commitment, Lessons Learned
Jim Reardon – City Council 1997 - 2001, President, Peoples Wealth Management
Lisa Stubbs – City Council 2001 – 2005, Business Development Analyst, Security Benefit
John Nave – City Council 2003 – 2007, Safety Consultant, Safety, Inc.
4:20–4:55 pm | City Council Role & Responsibilities
Norton Bonaparte – Topeka City Manager

School Board – Marvin Auditorium, Room 101 C
3:40–4:20 pm | Why Run, Commitment, Lessons Learned
Carolyn Campbell – Kansas School Board member, Former Topeka School Board member, Executive Assistant to Sen. Anthony Hensley
Fred Patton – Seaman School Board member, attorney at Patton Law Office
4:20–4:55 pm | School Board Role & Responsibilities
Joyce Martin – Former Auburn-Washburn School Board member, CEO of YWCA
Tom Krebs – Government Relations Specialist, Kansas School Board Association

Saturday's program is sponsored by Bartlett & West, Greater Topeka Chamber of Commerce , Community Resource Council (CRC), League of Women Voters of Topeka-Shawnee County, and the Topeka-Shawnee County Public Library.

631 SW Commerce Pl. Topeka, Kansas 66615 phone: 785-272-6397 fax: 785-272-1363 email:
Copyright © 2002-2016 - Designed by Gray Digital Media - Powered by Clickability 101439189 -
Gray Television, Inc.